The Why

The Why

dogs_hello.jpeg

Well, we had taken a break, a lot was happening but it was an amazing moment for me to go deeper into why I started this blog and where am heading. Sharing this is the aim of this post.

So I started this blog so as to have a place that I can document my journey in my career.

This, I have come to find that it is quite important so as to share with others who are looking for something similar and also for me, to have a place where I can refer to some things that I had done in the past.

Photo by Bundo Kim on Unsplash

For the love of reading and maps!

I love reading, this is why I chose blogging, actually one of my favorite moments are those that am curled up in a cosy chair with a mug of hot chocolate rereading one of my favorite reads, following through, as the characters encounter various adventures like Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, especially when Harry is bequeathed the Marauder's Map. Yes, I just had to mention a map!

Anyway, from Harry Potter, The Marauder's Map was a magical document that revealed all of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Not only did it show every classroom, every hallway, and every corner of the castle, but it also showed every inch of the grounds, as well as all the secret passages that were hidden within its walls and the location of every person in the grounds.

marauders.jpg

Woow! This is just amazing!

With the technological advancement, for instance with google maps, we can monitor our location and carry out routing to various destinations as I highlighted in the What is GIS? article. Even indoor mapping and navigation can be done similarly. You can watch this video on Sonorax for more information on indoor mapping.

Since my career involves this, it has been quite an adventure pursuing it.

Way forward

way_forward.jpg Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

I would like to explore the integration of spatial science and technology, looking at some basics of programming tools and applications of these to Geospatial.

I believe that Geospatial science has a lot of potential in solving the problems that are around us, and for sure currently it is intensively used in a various applications. So I would like to look at these, starting from the ground up; from the basics to as far as we can go.

Starting with the basics is quite important for me since, from experience I have come to appreciate that with a strong foundation on something, you can grow and build on it quite well. Owen Chamberlain puts this better:

The whole structure of science gradually grows, but only as it is built on a firm foundation.

Together we can go further

This journey can't be done alone, one always needs support from another on how to improve, what can be added to make the content even better or even for corrections on some errors or omission.

I value your feedback, comments and likes.

So I welcome you, my dear reader, let's make this journey together and see where it will lead us.

tegether.jpg Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

Am certain it will lead us to a much more beautiful space where even our imaginations cannot comprehend!